Sunwave Health Alternative
Need a Sunwave Health Alternative That Publishes Its Price?
Sunwave Health describes an AI-native EMR, CRM and RCM platform for behavioral health operators, serving substance use treatment, mental health clinics, eating disorder treatment, MAT, and enterprise or multi-site organizations. Pricing is not published on their site.
Unisona Health covers the same ground — admissions, clinical documentation, revenue cycle, compliance and operations on one patient record — and puts the number on the page: $70 to $90 per clinical seat a month, unlimited patients, monthly plans.
Built specifically for behavioral health and substance use treatment organizations.
The short answer
What is an alternative to Sunwave Health?
Unisona Health is a Sunwave Health alternative for behavioral health and substance use treatment organizations that want the price, the levels of care and the included services stated up front. Pricing is published — $70 to $90 per clinical seat a month, $60 for admin and billing seats, $25 for student interns — with unlimited patients, monthly plans and no implementation fee on Solo or Group Practice.
Unisona Health names every level of care it supports: outpatient, PHP and IOP, residential and detox, MAT/OTP, sober living, and CCBHC or multi-site. That includes the parts of opioid treatment that are easy to skip in a demo — daily dosing and pharmacy pick-ups recorded, take-homes tracked by phase, eMAR, and EPCS live with PDMP checks. Sunwave Health names the populations it serves; specific levels of care are not stated on their site.
At a glance
How does Unisona Health compare with Sunwave Health?
What each vendor publishes about itself, area by area. Where Sunwave Health’s site does not address something, the cell says so rather than guessing.
| Area | Unisona Health | Sunwave Health |
|---|---|---|
| Platform focus | One patient record across admissions, clinical documentation, revenue cycle, compliance and operations, built for behavioral health and substance use treatment. | Describes itself as an AI-native EMR, CRM and RCM platform for behavioral health operators — “one system, one login, no gaps”. |
| Published pricing | $70 to $90 per clinical seat a month, $60 for admin and billing seats, $25 for student interns. Unlimited patients, monthly plans, and no implementation fee on Solo or Group Practice. | Pricing is not published on their site. |
| Levels of care named | Outpatient, PHP and IOP, residential and detox, MAT/OTP, sober living, and CCBHC or multi-site, each with its own workflow page. | Names the populations served — substance use treatment, mental health clinics, eating disorder treatment, MAT, and enterprise or multi-site organizations. Specific levels of care are not stated on their site. |
| Medication and dosing | Daily dosing and pharmacy pick-ups recorded, take-homes tracked by phase, eMAR, and EPCS live with PDMP checks. | Medication management including MAT and controlled substances; DoseSpot appears among their published integrations. eMAR and EPCS are not stated by name on their site. |
| Revenue cycle | Eligibility and benefits, prior authorizations, claim scrubbing, remittance posting, denials, payer contracts and rates, and patient balances, with the Claim.MD clearinghouse included. | Eligibility and VOB, prior authorizations, utilization review management, claims auto-generated from census and attendance, automated payment matching and posting, pre-submission error detection, patient and ACH payments, and financial KPI dashboards; Waystar appears among their published integrations. |
| Admissions and census | Admissions and intake connected to the clinical record, with a bed and census board for residential and detox. | An admissions dashboard with real-time inquiries and VOB status, a live bed board, pre-admission assessments, referral contact management and attribution, and marketing analytics. |
| Assessments and ASAM | 24 standardized assessments, ASAM six-dimension scoring recorded on your own form — the platform does not compute a level of care — and treatment plans tied to those dimensions. | Progress notes, assessments, a custom template builder, configurable treatment plans, and AI-generated individual and group notes, patient summaries and assessments. |
| Security and compliance | 42 CFR Part 2 consent enforced on export, a seven-year immutable activity log, audit response packets on every plan, and roles and permissions. A SOC 2 Type II examination is engaged but not complete. | HIPAA safeguards, ISO 27001, ISO 42001, a SOC 2 Type 2 examination, PCI DSS, and a BAA. |
| Interoperability | API and FHIR access, with a full export of your records at any time and no fee. | Published integrations include Salesforce, CHESS Health, Twilio, PaySimple, DoseSpot, CTM, Waystar and Revolv3. API or FHIR access is not stated on their site. |
Sunwave Health is a trademark of its owner and is named here only to describe what that vendor publishes. Based on publicly available information as of September 2026. Confirm current features and pricing with each vendor.
Where they differ
Four things you can check before you book a call
Each of these is visible on a website rather than discovered in month two of an implementation.
Unisona Health publishes every rate: $90 per seat on Solo, $85 to $75 on Group Practice as the team grows, $70 per clinical seat for qualifying nonprofits, $60 for admin and billing seats, $25 for interns. Sunwave Health does not publish pricing on their site.
Outpatient, PHP and IOP, residential and detox, MAT/OTP, sober living, and CCBHC or multi-site each have a page describing the workflow. Sunwave Health names the populations it serves; specific levels of care are not stated on their site.
Daily dosing and pharmacy pick-ups are recorded and take-homes are tracked by phase, alongside eMAR and EPCS with PDMP checks. Sunwave Health states medication management including MAT and controlled substances, and lists DoseSpot among its integrations.
A Claim.MD clearinghouse connection for claims, remittances and eligibility is part of the seat price, and audit response packets are on every plan. Sunwave Health publishes Waystar among its integrations and does not state pricing or what a subscription includes.
What Sunwave publishes
What Sunwave Health says it covers
Restated from their own site so you can compare like with like. Feature names only — their published outcome figures are left out, because a statistic from one vendor’s customers is not a comparison.
Progress notes, assessments, a custom template builder, configurable treatment plans, group notes, scheduling with integrated telehealth, medication management including MAT and controlled substances, and a client portal with secure messaging.
Individual and group sessions including psychiatry, unlimited participants, reminders, and e-forms and e-signature before the call, described as HIPAA-compliant, encrypted and logged.
Eligibility and VOB, prior authorizations, utilization review management, claims auto-generated from census and attendance, automated charge posting, pre-submission error detection, automated payment matching, patient and ACH payments, and financial KPI dashboards.
An admissions dashboard with real-time inquiries and VOB status, a live bed board, pre-admission assessments, referral contact management and attribution, marketing analytics, web inquiry tracking, online booking, call tracking, calendars and secure staff messaging.
Salesforce, CHESS Health, Twilio, PaySimple, DoseSpot, CTM, Waystar and Revolv3, plus an alumni management product with follow-up schedules, engagement tracking and early-warning flags.
HIPAA safeguards, ISO 27001, ISO 42001, a SOC 2 Type 2 examination, PCI DSS and a BAA. Unisona Health has HIPAA safeguards and a signed BAA before any PHI is loaded, with a SOC 2 Type II examination engaged but not yet complete.
One vendor, two products
Sunwave Health and Lightning Step are the same company
Worth knowing before you build a shortlist: Lightning Step states on its own site that it is now part of Sunwave. Two entries on your evaluation grid, one vendor relationship.
Lightning Step’s site states it is now part of Sunwave. Their product pages mirror each other’s structure, down to a similarly scoped AI assistant on each.
If both appear on your grid as independent options, you are comparing one vendor twice. Weigh the commercial terms — pricing, contract length and implementation — once, not twice.
Lightning Step publishes an ONC certification in detail, including the certification number and criteria. Sunwave Health’s site does not publish certification details on the pages checked. Unisona Health is not ONC Health IT certified and does not claim to be.
By level of care
Start from the program you actually run
Every level of care Unisona Health supports has its own workflow page — read the one that matches your programs before you compare feature lists.
MAT & OTP
MAT and opioid treatment
Daily dosing and pharmacy pick-ups recorded, take-homes tracked by phase, eMAR, and EPCS with PDMP checks.
See the workflow →Residential & Detox
Residential and detox
Admissions, bed and census board, medication workflows, safety rounds and facility operations.
See the workflow →PHP & IOP
PHP and IOP
Group scheduling and attendance, documentation, authorization utilization and program billing.
See the workflow →Sober Living
Sober living
Residence operations alongside the clinical record, for organizations running housing next to treatment.
See the workflow →Questions
Sunwave Health alternative FAQs.
What is an alternative to Sunwave Health?
Unisona Health is a Sunwave Health alternative built for behavioral health and substance use treatment, and it publishes its pricing: $70 to $90 per clinical seat a month, $60 for admin and billing seats, $25 for student interns, unlimited patients and monthly plans. It names every level of care it supports — outpatient, PHP and IOP, residential and detox, MAT/OTP, sober living, and CCBHC or multi-site. Sunwave Health describes an AI-native EMR, CRM and RCM platform for behavioral health operators; pricing is not published on their site. The right fit still depends on your programs, payers and workflows.
How much does Sunwave Health cost?
Sunwave Health does not publish pricing on their site, so the figure comes from a sales conversation. Unisona Health publishes every rate: $90 per seat a month on Solo, $85 to $75 per seat on Group Practice as the team grows, $70 per clinical seat for qualifying nonprofits, $60 for admin and billing seats and $25 for student interns, with unlimited patients, monthly plans and no implementation fee on Solo or Group Practice.
Is Lightning Step the same company as Sunwave?
Yes — Lightning Step states on its own site that it is now part of Sunwave, so the two products come from one company rather than being independent rivals. If you are running a shortlist, count them as one vendor relationship and compare each product on the workflows you actually run.
Does Sunwave Health support opioid treatment program dosing?
Their site states medication management including MAT and controlled substances, and lists DoseSpot among their integrations; on-site daily dosing, eMAR and EPCS are not stated by name on their site. Unisona Health records daily dosing and pharmacy pick-ups, tracks take-homes by phase, includes eMAR, and has EPCS live with PDMP checks.
Which levels of care does Unisona Health support?
Unisona Health supports outpatient, PHP and IOP, residential and detox, MAT/OTP, sober living, and CCBHC or multi-site organizations, each with its own documented workflow. Sunwave Health names the populations it serves — substance use treatment, mental health clinics, eating disorder treatment, MAT, and enterprise or multi-site organizations — and does not state specific levels of care on their site.
Does Unisona Health calculate an ASAM level of care?
No. Unisona Health records ASAM six-dimension scoring on your own form and ties treatment plans to those dimensions, but the platform does not compute a level of care — the placement decision stays with your clinicians. That is deliberate, and it is described in full on the ASAM criteria page.
Should we choose Unisona Health or Sunwave Health?
Choose Unisona Health if you want published per-seat pricing, named levels of care including OTP dosing and sober living, a clearinghouse connection included in the seat price and a four-week implementation with parallel running. Sunwave Health publishes a broad EMR, CRM and RCM suite for behavioral health operators but not its pricing, so ask both vendors to run your own admission, group, authorization and claim end to end before deciding.
Keep Comparing
Continue Your Behavioral Health EHR Comparison
Every platform starts from a different place. Explore how Unisona Health compares across the rest of the guide, or step back to the full comparison hub.
Comparison
Unisona Health vs. Kipu Health
How Unisona Health connects clinical care, revenue cycle, compliance, and operations for organizations evaluating Kipu Health alternatives.
Explore comparison →Comparison
Unisona Health vs. SimplePractice
How Unisona Health supports behavioral health organizations that have grown beyond individual-appointment practice management into multiple programs, levels of care, and revenue cycle complexity.
Explore comparison →Comparison
Unisona Health vs. TherapyNotes
How Unisona Health supports behavioral health organizations that need deeper revenue cycle, compliance, utilization, and facility operations alongside clinical documentation across multiple levels of care.
Explore comparison →Comparison
Unisona Health vs. TheraNest
How Unisona Health adds operational depth for behavioral health organizations growing into multiple programs, levels of care, revenue cycle complexity, and compliance oversight.
Explore comparison →Comparison
Unisona Health vs. Lightning Step
How Unisona Health compares with the CRM, EHR and RCM platform that is now part of Sunwave, on pricing, levels of care and certification.
Explore comparison →Comparison
Unisona Health vs. Alleva
How Unisona Health compares for treatment centers weighing a behavioral-health-specific EHR on pricing, opioid treatment dosing, sober living and an included clearinghouse.
Explore comparison →Comparison
Unisona Health vs. BestNotes
How Unisona Health compares with a vendor that also publishes its rates, on total cost once modules are added, and on on-site daily dosing.
Explore comparison →Get started
Bring Us the Workflow a Demo Usually Skips
Not the polished intake screen — the awkward one. A take-home phase change, an authorization running out mid-IOP, a Part 2 record leaving the building, a claim that should not go out yet. We will run it in Unisona Health, and you will already know what it costs.
